Announcing the 2019

JWW Lectureship Series

The James W. White Lectureship Team is happy to announce that our speaker for 2019 will be Rev. Dr. Miguel De La Torre, Professor of Social Ethics and Latinx Studies at Iliff School of Theology in Denver.

Save the dates of May 10-12, 2019 for an exciting weekend.


James W. White

Rev. Dr. James W. White served First Congregational from 1989 to 2005. His provocative and passionate ministry guided our congregation through a period of renewed witness in this community, encouraging and supporting an engaged spirituality. At every point Jim taught others to enter into a life of faith more fully and more richly, exploring and drawing upon Biblical and historical traditions. He was committed to relating wide-ranging lessons of historic Christian teachings to the complexities of contemporary life. Sharing his enthusiasm for reading and study, Jim often brought to our congregation’s attention thinkers whom he admired, often inviting them to speak from our pulpit for the benefit of our church and the wider community.

Gifts to the James W. White Lectures Endowment are still welcome and can be made to First Congregational Church, noting the James W. White Endowment in the memo section of the check.


To honor Jim’s ministry and legacy, FCC established the James W. White Endowed Lectures. 

In 2007, the inaugural lecture was given by Bishop John Shelby Spong, followed in subsequent years by Dr. Walter Brueggemann, Dr. Amy-Jill Levine, Professor Bernard McGinn, Rev. Dr. Robin Meyers, Rev. Dr. Susan Brooks Thistlethwaite, Sister Joan Chittister, Brian D. McLaren, John Dominic Crossan, Nadia Bolz-Weber, Bishop Yvette Flunder, Peter Rollins, and Dr. Miroslav Volf.

Click below for recordings.

  • Miroslav volf


    Type content here...

  • Peter Rollins


    Type content here...

  • bishop yvette flunder


    Type content here...

  • nadia bolz-weber


    Type content here...

  • John dominic Crossan


    Type content here...

  • Brian mclaren


    Type content here...

  • Sister Joan Chittister


    Type content here...

  • Dr. Susan Brooks Thistlethwaite


    Type content here...

  • dr. robin meyers


    Type content here...

  • bernard mcginn


    Type content here...

  • dr. amy-jill levine


    Type content here...

  • dr. walter brueggemann


    Type content here...

  • bishop john shelby spong


    Type content here...